serious life lessons from my chessboard


I bet you can’t ignore these wits of wisdom from a simple board comprising of 2 teams, 6 unique characters and 64 alternating squares of color giving us an uncomprehending list of possibilities.

1. whatever happens, what’s next?

ups and downs, fuckups and flowers are all part of life. There is no point in getting bogged down by a setback. Pick your pieces together and take the next step. Don’t lose your heart and hope, until the flag is down 🙂 yes literally until the flag is down. Anything can change for better at any point of time.

2. one man army!

Its not just a phrase from any book. When you half close your eyes and stare at the board for hours at a stretch OR you go out into this concrete jungle and earn your daily bread, its all the same game. You are a one-man-army not fighting with anyone else but your own self.

If you can hear your mind thinking about the hundred possible ways of a win or loss, I am sure it makes you a calmer better person.

It weeds out the random behaviour from your daily routine. You become more and more silent, organized and disciplined as you realize your own limits.

3. patience is a virtue+++

I have to wait for my move.. and even when its my move, i actually have to wait a lot to make it.. If you don’t already know that long hours of wait time can factually burn you from inside, then you are a lucky guy.  Be patient always and believe in the cosmic benevolence. Respect the clock and respect the clock because impatience only insults the rotating hand.

4. you Vs. rest of the world..

This is the classic part of it all and I am not cynical, sardonic or preachy. There is only one you in this world and many a time, you will be left alone fighting your own war. And the whole world may stand against you. That would actually be the moment to prove your mettle. Fight it out with a smile. Rogue relations, sour friends, dumb managers, stupid neighbors, dirty drivers and junk Js are always there around you and will always be. What best you make out of them is what matters in the end.

5. loss is part of life 🙂

Many players have beaten me black and blue. On the board and off too.  I very well understood that I am a mere speck of sand on an endless ocean shore. In fact I have reached a point where I peacefully convinced myself that a loss is part of life. I can’t imagine myself without it. Neither would I be disappointed if I bump into my next ditch.

6. tourney OR a game?!#$

you may lose individual games but life is like an endless tourney. Its ok.. move on.. People won’t recognize you right on the first day first hand shake. You don’t get your dream salary from the very first month.. Dream girls are a myth. Owning a house in California is a mirage.. ;):P Keep going.  Thats the only best thing you can do. And when your flag is down in the end, no one would actually bother about the number of your wins or losses anyway. 😛

Agree? Thanks for reading.

-balu

Categories: analysis, chess, life, me, mind, philosophy, psychology, suggestions | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

